I’m Back!

As many of you will know I’ve had a short sabbatical from social media due to family circumstances. While I’ve been gone, I’ve been truly amazed at the friendship and support of so many lovely Twitter and Facebook friends, some of whom have continued sending caring messages from time to time, and I’d like to send them all my huge and sincere thanks. In this sad and distressing time these rays of light brightened my days.

Something else that gave me a lift was when I learned I’d won first prize in the Cazart flash fiction competition in June with my story ‘The Black Widow’ which you can read on the Cazart website, and above this post.

I only started writing flash fiction a few months ago as I’d previously thought; Flash fiction? What’s the point? There’s no time to get involved in the plot or characters. But, of course, that’s the art; pulling the reader in, holding them and leaving them with a sense of fulfilment, of having been taken away – and perhaps left with something to ponder – in just a few words. Not only do I love writing it, I love reading it. I’ve recently enjoyed dipping into Tania Hershman’s anthology; The White Road (Salt Publishing) on those myriad occasions when you want a complete reading experience in a short time.

So, I’m back, maybe less often than before due to ongoing commitments, but back. In a few weeks I hope to take my novel up again and begin the fourth (!) draft, but in the meantime I shall continue indulging in my new passion; flash fiction. And thank you, once again, to all those lovely people who sent such thoughtful messages.

This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. clarekirkpatrick says:

    Congratulations on your award, Debs! And it’s lovely to see you back. You’ve been missed x

  2. Well done, Deborah, on your award. I know how much a break helps when you’ve had an emotional time & hope you’re picking up the pieces now. You just have to let something go. All the best.

  3. Thanks, Clare and Christine. Yes, “let something go” – I’ve learned a lot about priorities in the last few weeks, In fact, I’ve had a megalesson in time management and what’s important in life. I haven’t always got it right, and arrangements have terrible habits of going wrong, so I’ve also been learning about stress management. At least it’s not all been bad news then …! xx

Leave a Reply

